Skip to content

be my bridesmaid?

June 21, 2010

I have officially asked my bridesmaids (all 7 of them!) to be a part of my big day! They all said yes and I couldn’t be happier. It feels nice to accomplish something that is wedding related. It’s a great way to kick off the fun since I’ve been laying low for the last 5 months. I’m starting to believe that this long engagement (18 months total) will be so great, especially with such awesome girls to stand beside me! I was caught by surprise by their excitement and willingness to make my wedding special and memorable. Thanks girls! More specifically: Becky Launder, Elizabeth Erlich, Anna Forsberg, Tiffany Matthews, Lauren Hilemon, Tiffany Miller, and Bree Miller!

I wanted to share a little about how I asked them. Enjoy!
For step-by-step instructions

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nik permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:04 pm

    Hi Lauren!
    I followed your link from the amazing post on Once Wed. Job well done on the entire remake of the invitation. I plan to work on this over the weekend. Would you mind sharing the list you wrote on the yellow sheet? Seems like a cute idea. Also, for the text “Will you be my bridesmaid” Did you use a calligrapher or was that your handwriting? Many thanks!!!

    p.s long engagements are so much fun. you are only a fiance once and a wife for a lifetime… mine is for 19 months :)

    • July 14, 2010 8:50 pm

      Hey Nik!
      Thanks so much for asking about the invites! They were really fun to make. But, I will warn you that I spent a ton of time on them… they look easier to make than they are. :)

      The text on the yellow paper has a list of things that I promise (I don’t have the exact wording anymore). 1. That I won’t be a bridezilla. 2. What I plan to keep the costs to 3. That I will make things as fun. Below that, I have a list of details like the colors, proposed date, and vibe of the wedding.

      As far as the writing goes, I traced the “Will you be my bridesmaid?” part from a font on my computer (dafont.com has great fonts to download) and they rest I wrote by hand.

      Best of luck! Let me know if you have any questions or want more pics! I want to see them when you are finished. Oh, and this long engagement is growing on me. :) Thanks for the advice!

  2. Katie permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:49 am

    Great work! I love this idea :) I tried using poster board for all 7 of my bridesmaids but it was too thick and it doesn’t look what what you used. Waht type of paper (size if your remember to) did you use for the paper dolls body/hair?. Noticed your last response… how do u trace on thick paper?

    Thanks!

  3. August 3, 2010 1:54 pm

    Katie,

    Oh, post board would be so difficult! I used scrap-booking paper (12×12″). I used thinner paper for the dresses because it was a pattern I liked. I used paper with a little bit of a texture and a bit thicker for the hair. My fingers were sore after using an exacto knife to cut everything out, but it’s worth it! Best of luck! Let me know if I can help!

    -Lauren

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

